Cute Notebooks

In the last years I have been written three works for Wind Ensemble. The unique sound and flexibility that wind ensemble offers, along with open-minded conductors who constantly seek the new and innovative, makes it exciting and fun. Wind ensemble composers and band music composers seek to broaden the repertoire constantly and thus new pieces for wind ensemble are constantly moving in new directions.

The three pieces that I have contributed so far are:

  1. TETRIS for double wind quintet

  2. GLEAMS FROM THE BOSOM OF DARKNESS for choir (or vocal ensemble and wind ensemble)

  3. LOOSE CABOOSE for wind ensemble.

Music for Flute, Viola and Harp Repertoire for Flute, Viola and Harp

Veiled Echoes for flute viola and harp, performed by:

Aureole Trio, with Laura Gilbert, flute; Mary Hammann, viola; Stacey Shames, harp.

Veiled Echoes for flute, viola and harp was written during a one month stay at Aspen , Colorado . While being surrounded by wild nature at its best, writing a trio for flute, viola and harp seemed to me as the most natural thing – as unification between music and the mountains, the woods and the rivers. Because of these external influences, as well as the trio’s delicate instrumentation, Veiled Echoes is in most of the cases airy and with delicate texture. In many places, the rhythm of the piece tends to be flexible, just like a leaf carried by the wind.

Veiled Echoes is consisted of three movements: the first brings nostalgia and remembrances. Number of musical motives which are introduced here will reappear and be developed in the following movements. This movement ends like a music-box that grows slower and slower. The second movement is the dreamiest of the three. It was written while trying to create a harmony with the rustle of the wind and the flow of the river. In this movement, I was not searching for musical continuity, but planted musical events one after the other while creating a static atmosphere. The third movement comes to demonstrate the energetic potential found in the trio’s instrumentation and to present the virtuosity of the players. In this movement, the listener would find motives fro the first movement alongside new motives. Veiled Echoes was written for Ensemble Lumina and is dedicated to them.

A Video Concert live-stream from Tel Aviv Museum, Israel

28/ July / 2020


Israel Chamber Orchestra

Ariel Zuckermann, conductor


W.A. Mozart: “Serenade No. 10”

Lior Navok: "Tetris"